August 7, 2008

Florida Consumer Lemon Law Complaint Resources

The Miami Herald recently posted an article on its website, where it lists a plethora of resources for Floridians consumers who need to file complaints. For example, a Miami consumer who would like to file a Lemon Law complaint against the car manufacturer can contact the cities' Consumer Services Department. Of course, a consumer may also contact an attorney that handles lemon law claims in Florida to get more detailed information about one's rights and recourse.

In addition to lemon law resources, the Miami Herald also included information for consumer with debt trouble, home improvement discrepancies, landlord/tenant disputes, and other issues. For more information, go here.

Similarly, in Texas, a consumer with a lemon car can contact my law office by calling my number toll free. Alternatively, they can contact the Texas Department of Transportation's lemon law department.

Regardless of what state you are in, if you have a suspicion that you purchased a lemon, be sure to check out what the statute of limitation or deadline to file a lemon la complaint is.

July 24, 2008

Florida Lemon Law has a Birthday this month, turns 20 years old

Most, if not all 51 states have lemon laws that protect consumers against being stuck with a defective lemon car (some state laws are better than others). This month, the Florida Lemon Law, which is namely an arbitration program for consumers, has a twentieth (20th) birthday.

Comparatively, the Texas Lemon Law is arguably slightly better than the Florida Lemon Law (but not by far); primarily because Texas has a serious safety provision that Florida's lemon law lacks. The two state lemon laws can improve tremendously and help more consumers by providing for attorney fee shifting and also adding a garden variety provision for repair attempts that is not for the same defect.

All consumers should be aware that Florida's lemon law has strict rules and deadlines -- consumer must file a claim within the first 24,000 miles of delivery of the subject vehicle. In addition, there must be 3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 calendar days at the service center.

For more information about Florida's 20th birthday for its lemon law, go here.